Seasons Greetings

Dear Friend of the Theatre,
December 3, 2014

As the New Year approaches, A Theatre Group wishes to take this opportunity to thank you for the part you’ve played in keeping the arts a priority in the lives of our patrons and community members.

2014 marked our 27th anniversary, two and a half decades of making innovative and relevant theatre.

Our first collaboration with the Silverton School‘s new summer youth program was a cooperative and mutually beneficial effort. ATG produced an original adaptation of The Little Prince (adapted by Sinjin Jones and Mollie Fiddler.) The production showcased the talents of Silverton youth ranging in ages five to sixteen. Additionally, ATG collaborated with the school‘s Makers program to create a beautiful multi-media set, which portrayed the dream like world of The Little Prince and his many travels.

In addition, I conducted a master class in acting for the teenagers of Silverton, which resulted in a showcase directly following the children’s production. The teens enrolled were taught the basics of The Stanislavski System, (method acting) and they learned more advanced performance techniques. Participants explored the value of analyzing a character, looking for clues within the text, and connecting honestly to the given circumstances of a scene. It was wonderful to see the students involved take emotional risks and engage with more advanced material. We plan to offer a similar workshop next year.

Plans are currently underway for next year’s youth collaboration and we hope to add even more theatre offerings in collaboration with the school in the summer of 2015.

In October of this year, ATG brought in New York based playwright Peter Gil-Sheridan to conduct a master class to the residents of Silverton. For two consecutive weekends, participants gathered in the Blue Raven Gallery and were offered valuable and expert instruction by this seasoned and award winning playwright. Several of the students enrolled came out of the class with new playwriting projects underway, while others simply had an opportunity to explore this form of writing in a safe non-judgmental

top next col

atmosphere. Peter is in touch with a few of the participants and we hope to have a formal reading of the new plays sometime next year.

By our calculations ATG has produced over 150 plays, many of them new works. Last fall we received word that two plays developed as a part of Silverton’s New Artist Series have received publication. Proof that ATG’s program is still creating meaningful work that will be seen and heard for years to come.

With the passing of the milestone of our 27th year, along with facing challenges of day-to-day operations we continue to find innovative ways to keep ATG progressing with its core mission intact: creating meaningful theatre and providing a platform for artists of all ages to develop, explore and grow.

Your past support has made 25 seasons possible; your future support will ensure that we are able to continue. Whether you choose to renew your yearly membership at $10.00, or opt for a lifetime membership of $1000.00, any tax-deductible donation will help us to keep our doors open. In addition, a donation to the building fund will help us to finance our new home -- a place where performing arts, visual arts, music and dance will finally have a single dedicated space.

As the holiday draws near we want to thank you for all that you have done to support our program over these many years. It is a challenging time for small theatres across the country. It is our hope to continue to offer quality arts instruction and arts programming for years to come.

May you and yours have a blessed holiday season and thank you for being a part of our theatre family for 25 wonderful years!

Mollie Fiddler, Artistic Director
and Board of Directors, A Theatre Group

back to top ^

PayPal - The safer, easier way to pay online!